Welcome to Torrington Commons

Towards the end of the 12th century a 'large waste called The Common' was given to the people of Torrington. In 1889 the rights to this land were transferred, by an act of parliament, to an elected Committee of Conservators. They now administer 365 acres of land surrounding the town on all but the eastern side.

The area is freely accessible to all, and visitors can walk the 20 miles of footpaths, ranging from the golf course in the north; ancient wood and wild flower meadow in the west; and dropping down to the beautiful river Torridge valley to the south of the town. There is access from the Tarka Trail for walkers.

Car parks are available off the Bideford road to the west (old bowling green), and in Torrington itself.